This is Water by David Foster Wallace

This is Water, David Foster Wallace

‘This is Water’ is a commencement speech delivered by David Foster Wallace in 2005 at Kenyon College. The text of the book This Is Water: Some Thoughts, Delivered on a Significant Occasion, about Living a Compassionate Life, first published by Little, Brown and Company in 2009, originated from this speech.

I am a sucker for commencement speeches and keep coming back to this one. It serves as a reminder that I need to get over myself — not everything in the world occurs as a response to me. I must learn how to think, to decide what has meaning and what doesn’t and simply be aware. If I go on I will sound preachy af, but this text helped me set things in perspective. And sometimes a little bit of perspective can go a long way.

Or you could probably read about how the best commencement speech of all time was bad for literaturethisiswater.jpg

Leave a Reply

